*New* ISO 14001:2015 standard

With the publication of ISO 14001:2015 in September 2015, this new version will replace the current ISO 14001:2004. 
The key changes in the standard are:

  • Increase prominence of environmental management within the organization's strategic planning processes
  • Greater focus on leadership
  • Addition of proactive initiatives to protect the environment from harm and degradation, such as sustainable resource use and climate change mitigation
  • Improving environmental performance added
  • Lifecycle thinking when considering environmental aspects
  • Addition of a communications strategy

In addition, the revised standard will follow a common structure with other management system standards such as ISO 9001, hence making it easier for companies who are using more than one management system. 
What does this mean to your organization?
Organizations using ISO 14001:2004 are recommended to take the following actions:

  • Identify organizational gaps which need to be addressed to meet new requirements.
  • Develop an implementation plan.
  • Provide appropriate training and awareness for all parties that have an impact on the effectiveness of the organisation.
  • Update the existing environmental management system (EMS) to meet the revised requirements and provide verification of effectiveness.
  • Where applicable, liaise with their Certification Body for transition arrangements. 

Organizations presently certified under ISO 14001:2004 are given a three year transition period from the publication date of ISO 14001:2015. The transition period will begin in 15 September 2015 and end in 14 September 2018. All ISO 14001:2004 certifications will not be valid after 14 September 2018. 
You may also wish to contact us at (65) 6333 5023 for further clarification on ISO 14001 transition matters.