*New* ISO 9001:2015 standard

With the publication of ISO 9001:2015 in September 2015, this new version will replace the current ISO 9001:2008. 
The new version will be based on Annex SL – the new high level structure (HLS) that brings a common framework to all management system standards. This helps to keep consistency, alignment different management system standards, offer matching sub-clauses against the top-level structure and apply common language across all standards.
The key changes in the standard are:

  • The emphasis on leadership
  • The focus on risk management
  • Emphasis on objectives measurement and change
  • Communication and awareness
  • Fewer prescriptive requirements

With the new standard in place, organizations will find it easier to incorporate their quality management system into the core business processes and gain greater business benefit.
What does this mean to your organization?
Organizations using ISO 9001:2008 are recommended to take the following actions:

  • Identify organizational gaps which need to be addressed to meet new requirements.
  • Develop an implementation plan.
  • Provide appropriate training and awareness for all parties that have an impact on the effectiveness of the organisation.
  • Update the existing quality management system (QMS) to meet the revised requirements and provide verification of effectiveness.
  • Where applicable, liaise with their Certification Body for transition arrangements. 

Organizations presently certified under ISO 9001:2008 are given a three year transition period from the publication date of ISO 9001:2015. The transition period will begin in 15 September 2015 and end in 14 September 2018. All ISO 9001:2008 certifications will not be valid after 14 September 2018. 
You may also wish to contact us at (65) 6333 5023 for further clarification on ISO 9001 transition matters.